This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
MysticPing's profile picture

[SOLVED]loadstring/dostring issues.

Started by MysticPing, 26 September 2014 - 12:43 PM
MysticPing #1
Posted 26 September 2014 - 02:43 PM
So, im using a older version of CC if it helps (tekkit classic) and i have this program which is experiencing a weird issue.

if i do

id, message = rednet.recieve
print(message)

the message is printed (the message is "c1.fuel=100")

Now if i do

message = "return "..message
update = loadstring(message)
update()

It says the line with the "update()" is "attempt to call nil" and the program crashes.
I tried doing this too

dostring(message)

But it was giving me 2 different errors, sometimes it makes the same error as above and sometimes it gives me a indexing error at line 1.

Line 1 is this

c1 = { -- this line.
fuel = 0,
range = true,
currently = "doing nothing"
}

When it comes to normal lua im a pretty experienced coder. But not with CC
Edited on 27 September 2014 - 08:36 AM
Lyqyd #2
Posted 26 September 2014 - 05:36 PM
The first snippet of code wouldn't work at all. Please ensure you've copied the other pieces of code completely correctly, or better yet, post your whole code via copy and paste or pastebin upload.

Loadstring returns either a function or nil, but also an error message when the string can't be loaded. Try printing the error:

local func, err = loadstring(message)
if not func then error(err) end
MysticPing #3
Posted 26 September 2014 - 06:03 PM
Thers no put or get commands in this version of CC. From what i can tell the first snippet is missing a "()". My error here, that does not exist in the code.
The problem is when i print the message it shows, but when i try to loadstring it and run the function it acts as if i-m running a non-existant function. (Therefore the attempt to call nil)
Lyqyd #4
Posted 26 September 2014 - 06:28 PM