This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
archit's profile picture

[Solved] Weird random bug unable to squash

Started by archit, 09 June 2012 - 04:44 PM
archit #1
Posted 09 June 2012 - 06:44 PM
Hello my fellow coders :)/>/>

I consider myself a pretty decent coder, after I have been programming for several years. I have been trying to squash a bug in my turtle mining program for the last many hours, and for the life of me can't track it down.

I have been building an api for my programs, and each function in it has been tested as working before adding it to the final api code. With this api, I already managed to build a program like the one I am attempting again, that was working flawlessly. But, with bad luck, I lost it as it was only saved on computers and disks in that game world. Which is no longer running.

The basics of this program is to ask you the dimensions you want to dig on an x,y,z format, which directions (up/down and left/right), as well as however you want to configure comparing. Then it will return to any world x,y,z coord when all slots have something in them and drop everything off in a specific direction. Finally returning to it's last position and continuing on till finished. Once done it will head back to the "dropoff" location till retrieved.

Everything is working, except when going to the dropoff point, or when finished, sometimes (randomely as far as I have been able to test) will go an extra few blocks (- or +) on the x axis within minecraft. It has also missed the z axis only 1 time out of over 10 tests. I have put in several checks and logging with no avail of tracking it down.

Here is the relevant code for the problem: