This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Tobbe's profile picture

External Minecraft LuA Development

Started by Tobbe, 13 November 2014 - 01:16 PM
Tobbe #1
Posted 13 November 2014 - 02:16 PM
Hi,
I am a beginner C# Programmering and looking to start using Minecraft as a playground for coding
and to learn LuA.

Since the ingame editor leaves much to be desired I wonder if there is an External Program similar to Visual Studio for programing LuA suitable to minecraft?

It is preferably free, comes with syntax highlighter, autodebugger that complains when syntax is wrong
and, if possible, even come with autocomplete suggest.

That way I can start coding in a better enviroment then in minecrafts editor. I know I will need to somehow get the code from the program into minecraft but I'll cross that bridge when I get to it as I take this one step at a time.

Thanks for the help guys.

// Tobbe
theoriginalbit #2
Posted 13 November 2014 - 02:41 PM
Sublime Text 2/3 is a good text editor when combined with GravityScore's syntax highlighter, it adds code suggestions. However it is a paid software that has an unlimited trial period (so just the occasional 'buy me' popup), it also doesn't have a compiler to inform you of incorrect syntax and the likes.

Certain IDEs like IntelliJ (and I do believe Visual Studio too) do have Lua plugins, which obviously have a compiler and the likes (I know for a fact the IntelliJ plugin even performs some AST code inspection and gives you warnings), however these are for Lua and don't have specific support for ComputerCraft, meaning you'll definitely not be able to run the scripts from the IDE.

You will have to weighing up whether you want code suggestions, or a compiler more than the other and then make your decision based off that.