This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
InDieTasten's profile picture

[General AF] Neural nets in ComputerCraft? A bad idea?

Started by InDieTasten, 19 February 2015 - 02:37 AM
InDieTasten #1
Posted 19 February 2015 - 03:37 AM
Hi, I don't know if someone has experience with pattern recognition and neural nets in general.
So one day I was thinking, it would be kinda cool to have handwriting recognition on advanced monitors. And as I am coming closer and closer to the actual implementation(I'm currently like reading and reading and reading how it works in theory) I don't exactly know, whether a neural net is "efficient".
And if it actually comes to it, I would definitely want to also train the nets in ComputerCraft and bake the net to a single function at the end of the training for speed purposes. But I'm not too experienced with neural nets and maybe some of you have already made something AI like in CC and could tell me if the training would exceed my lifetime? :D/>

Is pattern/handwriting recognition a bad idea to train in plain lua code?
I could theoretically train it in something like Torch or similar and try to export it, but I don't know if thats practical

Are there already neural nets in use of some programs? (haven't seen any myself, but I don't know every program on the platform^^)
Maybe even some frameworks?

Is pattern/handwriting recognition a bad idea to implement in ComputerCraft?
Maybe theres a chance, that even a fully trained system becomes too large(in layers and neurons) that a single execution takes too much time to be enjoyful, but I think training will become more of a question. Most likely to be reached at a level of word recognition(but I'm not at the level of recurrent networks yet)