This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
digital_light's profile picture

Enhanced Portals 3 Wireless controller [java error]

Started by digital_light, 06 March 2015 - 11:29 PM
digital_light #1
Posted 07 March 2015 - 12:29 AM
Hey I am new to lua but i know enough, or have researched on how to do things, but total confused. I am trying to make a Enhanced Portals 3 hub that is controlled remotely by computer craft. It has its own api. I have a small program that is nothing fancy. It just sends the name of the portal through the wireless handheld to the main computer which then tells the portal what to do. When i call the function to open the portal (the open function) it throws a java error in the computer. If you know anything about this please help. The weirdest thing is I can make it work using numbers but when i try to use names it breaks.

modem=peripheral.wrap("top")
dial=peripheral.wrap("ep_dialling_device_0")
--dial uses the enhanced portals api which controls the portal through a wired connection with the computer.
modem.open(5)
function list()
local out={}
for i=0,dial.getStoredCount() do
  out[i]=dial.getStoredName(i)
end
return out
end
function open(msg)
dial.terminate()
for i,check in ipairs(list()) do
  if string.find(msg,check) then
   dial.dialStored(i)
   return true
  end
end
return false
end

while not redstone.getInput("back") do
event,side,sent,reply,msg,distance=os.pullEvent("modem_message")
if not( string.find(msg,"close"))and open(msg) then
  modem.transmit(reply,sent,msg.." has opened")
elseif not string.find(msg,"close") then
  modem.transmit(reply,sent,msg.." not found in list,  please try again")
else
  modem.transmit(relpy,sent,"Portal Closed")
end
end
the code on the handheld just sends what ever is typed into on channel 5.
KingofGamesYami #2
Posted 07 March 2015 - 01:16 AM
Question: string.find( msg, check ) what's check? I don't see it.
digital_light #3
Posted 07 March 2015 - 04:44 AM