This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Rougeminner's profile picture

Tables and Textutils :(

Started by Rougeminner, 04 April 2015 - 03:45 AM
Rougeminner #1
Posted 04 April 2015 - 05:45 AM
I am new to using tables. i have tried for years to stay away from them in every programing language i know, but they where created for a reason.

My Problem: I am making a program that has a list of Items it keeps and a list of items it throws away in mining, Said list is a whole other file name trashlist. I would like it to be formatted like this

{
"Gravel",
"CobbleStone",
"Dirt",
"Every other useless block you could mine in minecraft in the search for diamonds!"

}

i need to know how to make the code be able to read the very long list of contents in this table without there being a set limit to items. and how to i compare if the selected Item is on the trashlist. I am using turtle.getDetail()

Thanks in advance
Lyqyd #2
Posted 04 April 2015 - 05:48 AM
Open the file, then read the entire contents into a string and run it through textutils.unserialize(). That will return a table of your strings.
Rougeminner #3
Posted 04 April 2015 - 05:55 AM
ok and i can just do #table{} to get its length correct? Then how do i compare it with the Item info that the turtle has just received from the selected slot.

P.S. Thanks for the Early Reply
valithor #4
Posted 04 April 2015 - 06:23 AM
ok and i can just do #table{} to get its length correct? Then how do i compare it with the Item info that the turtle has just received from the selected slot.

P.S. Thanks for the Early Reply

There are certain circumstances in which #table would not return what you would expect, but in this scenario it should. You will not need the {} just #table (dont name your table "table" it causes problems).

As for comparing it you could use a for loop.

item = turtle.getItemDetail()
for i = 1, #tbl do
  if tbl[i] == item.name then
	-- it equals so do stuff