This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
DaRc's profile picture

Program status / termination

Started by DaRc, 27 May 2015 - 05:36 AM
DaRc #1
Posted 27 May 2015 - 07:36 AM
Good morning! I have been working with ComputerCraft's API for BigReactors to control a BigReactor and read date remotely from it. It has been rather helpful thus far, but I am trying to do a few things I am not really sure how to accomplish as I am fairly new to Lua. Below is a general example of what I am trying to accomplish. As always any/all help is appreciate and thanks in advance!!!!

I have a program called reactor which contains all the methods for controlling and monitoring the reactor. I would like to use another program such as the basic startup file to check if that program is actually running, and if it is, print to the terminal (not monitor). I would also like to be able to read if the script halted due to an error, and of course, print the normal error date on screen without printing the custom terminal information as per the above request.

Now to the next part, sounds simple in my head… I simply would like to be able to detect if the program was TERMINATED with ctrl + t, and if so, have it perform a specific set of commands (clearing the terminal for example).
valithor #2
Posted 27 May 2015 - 07:55 AM
I would like to use another program such as the basic startup file to check if that program is actually running, and if it is, print to the terminal (not monitor).

The problem with this is only one program is really ever running at a time (will come back to coroutines in a second). You could very easily just put print statements throughout your original program to relay the information, no reason for two programs. If you really want 2 programs you could even use shell.run to run the second program from the original.