This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Assyrianos's profile picture

Using turtle.forward() etc. as variables or change the name of function

Started by Assyrianos, 11 June 2015 - 11:41 PM
Assyrianos #1
Posted 12 June 2015 - 01:41 AM
Hey guys, i'm very new with programming and even FTB thats why my question maybe sounds a little bit dumb., Im trying to change the name "turtle.forward()" to any variable for example to "a". I need that for special pictures and make the programming easier.

Let me just show you guys what i mean:

local a = turtle.forward()
local b = turtle.turnRight()
local c = turtle.turnLeft()
local d = turtle.back()

a()
b()
a()
c() --the order of them doesnt really matter, i need to know, how i can set that up at all

What i dont understand, is what the CC-Wiki said, i did it exactly the same way before, but that spitted more Error out…

Thanks for your help guys!
Dog #2
Posted 12 June 2015 - 01:56 AM
What you're doing is calling the functions and thus setting a, b, c, & d to the output returned by the functions you're trying to set them equal to. Removing the brackets will allow you to set your variables the way you wish, like so

local a = turtle.forward
local b = turtle.turnRight
local c = turtle.turnLeft
local d = turtle.back

a()
b()
c()
d()
flaghacker #3
Posted 12 June 2015 - 06:14 AM
But renaming functions isn't really a good practise. It may save some typing, but it makes the code harder to read in most cases.
Edited on 12 June 2015 - 04:15 AM
Bomb Bloke #4
Posted 12 June 2015 - 06:28 AM
It… depends. I don't like the readability aspect of it, not one bit. I also hate people writing functions when they don't have to (whereas some coders seem to like using function names as if they were comments, and so define them where there's absolutely no other point in doing so).