This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
westloar's profile picture

Searching through tables

Started by westloar, 30 July 2015 - 05:48 PM
westloar #1
Posted 30 July 2015 - 07:48 PM
I am looking to write a function to search through a pre-made table and pull out the related data and was thinking of using a while loop to search through each entry of the table:

local function searchTable(searchTerm)

i = 0
local finished = false

while finished ~= true do
  i = i +1
  if table[i][3] == "searchTerm" then

item1 = table[i][2]
  item2 = table[i][4]

return item1, item 2
  finished = true
  end

end

First of all, I am new to Lua and pretty new to programming in general, would this code work?

Second, is there a hard-coded way/api/method to search through arrays/tables?

Thanks in advance!
Edited on 30 July 2015 - 05:50 PM
KingofGamesYami #2
Posted 30 July 2015 - 11:36 PM
For loops are useful here as is the pairs function, it shortens your code considerably:

for k, v in pairs( tbl ) do --#NEVER call your tables 'table'!  'table' is an API.
    if v[3] == searchTerm then
       return v[2], v[4]
    end
  end
end

As to the validity of your code, it will error on line 14 or 15, because you cannot do things in a function after you return. In addition, setting a variable isn't necessary, because return ends the loop (and the function).
Bomb Bloke #3
Posted 31 July 2015 - 02:52 AM
Alternatively, instead of numerically indexing your values:

local tbl = {{1,2,"name",4}, {1,2,"someothername",4}, {1,2,"yetanothername",4}}

… you can use those "name" strings as keys to index them:

local tbl = {["name"] = {1,2,3}, ["someothername"] = {1,2,3}, ["yetanothername"] = {1,2,3}}

This allows you to get the values you want without looping at all; tbl[searchTerm][2] & tbl[searchTerm][3] lead you directly to them.
westloar #4
Posted 31 July 2015 - 06:53 AM
For loops are useful here as is the pairs function, it shortens your code considerably: