This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
lecrouch's profile picture

Need another pair of eyes

Started by lecrouch, 29 August 2015 - 04:07 PM
lecrouch #1
Posted 29 August 2015 - 06:07 PM
Hey all, just getting into computercraft, but I'm a somewhat experienced coder.

In any event, I have a slightly modified excavation type script and I am getting a weird bug that I can't seem to find so another set of eyes would be helpful!

Anyway, on line 44, I'm getting attempt to call nil

Sorry about all of the debugging prints. FYI, it is not even getting past or into the travelTo() function that is on line 44.

Help is appreciated!

http://pastebin.com/908FSgQ4

Julian
lecrouch #2
Posted 29 August 2015 - 08:34 PM
Edit: When I said line 44, I really meant, 28 ( had made some changes, and read an old error message)
Exerro #3
Posted 29 August 2015 - 11:23 PM
You're defining travelTo() after the function that calls it at line 28. You need to forward declare the function before using it, something like this.

local a, b
function a()
	b()
end
function b()
	a()
end

Both of those functions would work (and run until a stack overflow), and are still local because they were localised on line 1.
Edited on 29 August 2015 - 10:00 PM
lecrouch #4
Posted 30 August 2015 - 02:23 PM
Thanks for the input dude!

I added the forward declaration, and to be safe, since my functions bounce off of each other quite a bit, I went ahead and just forward declared them all.

Unfortunately, it didn't seem to work, still getting attempt to call nil, however now it is just on line 45.

Here's the new one.
http://pastebin.com/RsJidfXR
Bomb Bloke #5
Posted 31 August 2015 - 12:39 AM
You're declaring travelTo as local twice. That means the attempt to call it, on line 45, is going to point to the version on line 27, not the version defined after the call on line 263.