This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Burger's profile picture

Mining Turtle Sometimes Operates Code Correctly, Sometimes Not.

Started by Burger, 20 September 2015 - 02:23 AM
Burger #1
Posted 20 September 2015 - 04:23 AM
Hey all. I posted a topic a few weeks ago about a mining turtle program I'm trying to write (I know there are lots out there already, but I want to learn how to code in CC so I'm writing my own). That issue was fixed, but now I'm having another problem, and would like to ask for some more aid if possible.

I'm a newbie, not only to ComputerCraft, but also to coding in general, so my work posted below will probably be of a very poor standard. But I am interested to learn, so any assistance you could give me would be greatly appreciated, thank you. I've done a lot of research on the wiki, on tutorial videos on Youtube, and reading through code snippets on this forum, and I've already learned a great deal. However I would ask that you try and make replies to this thread nice and simple, so I can understand them better, and if possible explain the logic behind them so that I can comprehend just how and why the code is working as it does.

Here is a link to the text file of my code, since it's getting quite long now: https://www.dropbox....3c44p/quar?dl=1

The problem I'm having is strange. It occurs when the turtle has finished digging down to bedrock and is on it's way back up to the surface. Most of the time it climbs all the way up and deposits anything it has dug out in the chest as it should.

However just occasionally, for no apparent reason, it stops moving some way down, and ejects all it's valuables there instead.