This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
binarycode's profile picture

What exactly is computercraft?

Started by binarycode, 13 October 2015 - 05:42 PM
binarycode #1
Posted 13 October 2015 - 07:42 PM
Hello,

I am new to minecraft modding, so far I have tried basic mods such as minimap, textures and so on.

I have came across this mod through google, I cant find any description about it, what exactly does computercraft do??

I know this question sounds dumb but I feel like this is the right place to ask this

Sorry for my noobness, I have only played with basic Minecraft Mods and resource packs.
Edited on 22 October 2015 - 04:53 PM
KingofGamesYami #2
Posted 13 October 2015 - 07:52 PM
The easiest part to explain would be turtles - blocks you can program to perform a variety of tasks, including moving up/down/forward/backward, turning right/left, breaking blocks, placing blocks, etc.

If you right click on either a turtle or a computer, it opens a GUI with a terminal. From the terminal, you can run, edit, move programs, and more. You can create your own, customized programs.

For some examples of what can be done, I'd take a look at nitrogenfingers youtube videos.

I suppose I should add a link to the wiki's main page too - http://computercraft.info/wiki/Main_Page
Edited on 13 October 2015 - 05:57 PM
Creator #3
Posted 13 October 2015 - 08:23 PM
Computercraft adds a bunch of blocks to Minecraft. The main one is the computer. It allows you to execute code and even interact with the world through peripherals. The programming language that is used is Lua.
Cloud Ninja #4
Posted 14 October 2015 - 11:40 AM