This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Aoiryuu's profile picture

Help with farming turtle slot change

Started by Aoiryuu, 09 November 2015 - 05:09 PM
Aoiryuu #1
Posted 09 November 2015 - 06:09 PM
Hi everyone.

I was wondering if any of you could help me with this farming turtle program that I'm trying to make.

Basically what I want my turtle to do is be able to farm 64 wheat in one go. Unfortunately that means that the bone meal in slot 9 will run out before the seeds in slot 1 so I'm trying to get my turtle to switch from slot 9 to slot 10 when the bone meal in slot 9 runs out. I've spent hours on this with looking up lots of topics and made this code (probably not the best project for a complete newb ha ha but hey ho :)/>).

Anyway, so basically when my bone meal runs out, it doesn't change to slot 10 but instead it replaces slot nine with wheat… is there anyway to make it ignore slot 9 when it become empty and keep putting wheat in the same slot as before?

Help appreciated

function check()
  while true do
	for i=9,14 do
	  if turtle.getItemCount(i) > 0 then
		return turtle.select(i)
	  end
	end
	printError("No more bonemeal")
	os.pullEvent("key")
  end
end

local amount = 64
for DoNotChangeThis=1,amount do
  turtle.select(1)
  turtle.place()
  check()
  turtle.place()
  turtle.place()
  turtle.place()
  turtle.dig()
end
Edited on 09 November 2015 - 07:21 PM
Lupus590 #2
Posted 09 November 2015 - 08:57 PM
When the turtle pick-up items (either through dig or suck) it will place the item/s in the currently selected slot. If it can't it goes into the first available slot (staring from slot one, then slot 2, then 3 and so on).

as for knowing when to switch bonemeal slot, check how many items are in the slot while you know that it contains bonemeal: http://computercraft...le.getItemCount
Edited on 09 November 2015 - 07:57 PM
Bomb Bloke #3
Posted 09 November 2015 - 10:56 PM