This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Rasmon's profile picture

Help using Touchpoint Api buttons with other text

Started by Rasmon, 10 November 2015 - 04:42 AM
Rasmon #1
Posted 10 November 2015 - 05:42 AM
I am fairly new to CC and I am trying to create my own adaptation of the Direwolf20 reactor/turbine control program and wanted to use Touchpoint API. I am struggling a bit with getting the text to update on the screen while using this API. I basically took the example code for Touchpoint API, shrunk the buttons and moved them a bit, removed the monitor.clear from the API (as it was erasing my other text), and added details above the buttons. My next plan was to make those buttons do some other things, but when I tested my progress I noticed that the reactor/turbine information was not updating unless I clicked one of the buttons on the screen. I have tried moving the location of the t:draw() inside the while true do loop, since it seems I need to refresh that after clearing the screen for the reactor/turbine status, but even when it's outside the loop I cannot get the status to update.

I am sure I am just missing something here, but not sure what. Below is the code I have thus far.

Code: http://pastebin.com/W0gJV9NL

Any chance someone can give me a suggestion on how I should be incorporating my other text onto the same monitor with the buttons generated from Touchpoint API?
Lyqyd #2
Posted 10 November 2015 - 06:03 AM
If you want the information displayed on the screen to update periodically, you'd need to use a timer event to update the screen. You'd set a timer with os.startTimer(seconds), then watch for timer events. It's best to capture the timer ID (the return value from your os.startTimer call) and check that to ensure you only update the screen on your own timer events. When handling the timer event, you'd then start a new timer and capture the new ID.