This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Mr909's profile picture

A Stupid-Simple Question

Started by Mr909, 10 July 2012 - 05:09 PM
Mr909 #1
Posted 10 July 2012 - 07:09 PM
So, I am just getting started, had some problems getting the lua in but the blocks are there, and in the meantime while I try to figure that out I'm using the systems I understand to develop some hardware in-game for item management. But a lot of what I'm doing hinges on this question, which should be very obvious to anyone who does this already: Are floppy disks programs, files, or both?

Example: I'm trying to develop account systems linked to floppy disks, that interact with a banking program on a computer. Will I have to put my banking program on each floppy, and just have the computer run the program from there, or can I have my banking program interact with data on the floppies? Also, how tough would it be to encrypt data on the floppies so users don't manually hack their accounts?
BigSHinyToys #2
Posted 10 July 2012 - 07:52 PM
floppy are folders they hold files the files can be executed just like normal ones on a computer.the disk that shows up when you use the "dir" command it the folder. use "cd disk" to open the folder.floppy hold an infinite amount of data .

as flopys are just folders it is possible to access any file on them. If you had a file called BankINFO for example you could have your program open it then read its data and act accordingly. I would recommended having a sever store the client data so they cant hack it out of there card / the computer they are using. WiFi and rednet are a method you could use to communicate between sever and client.

It is possible to encrypt data in CC , I haven't seen a fully working example but it is possible.

If you have any other questions feel free to post them here and i will answer if i can.
Mr909 #3
Posted 10 July 2012 - 08:02 PM