This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Mr_Programmer's profile picture

fs.readLine()

Started by Mr_Programmer, 07 January 2016 - 12:52 AM
Mr_Programmer #1
Posted 07 January 2016 - 01:52 AM
Hi all,

Is there a way you can specify what line the FS API reads when say like reading through a config file or do i have to do stuff with tables?

Please help, i am fairly new to tables so dont really know how they work, yes i have read the Wiki Tut page :P/> Still dont understand it tho same with tArgs.

Any help i will be greatly thankfull for.
KingofGamesYami #2
Posted 07 January 2016 - 02:05 AM
fs.readLine reads a single line from a file. It automatically increments the line being read each time it is called. You cannot specify which file being read. You do not have to use a table, although it is much easier to use one for most situations.

local file_lines = {} --#create a blank table
local file = fs.open( "file_name", "r" ) --#open the file in read mode
for line in file.readLine do --#file.readLine is a function which acts similar to pairs or ipairs, and therefor can be used like this
  file_lines[ #file_lines + 1 ] = line --#set file_lines[ the number of items in file_lines + 1 ] equal to the current line
end

print( file_lines[ 1 ] ) --#prints the first line of the file

http://lua-users.org/wiki/TablesTutorial
Edited on 07 January 2016 - 01:06 AM
Mr_Programmer #3
Posted 07 January 2016 - 02:27 AM
fs.readLine reads a single line from a file. It automatically increments the line being read each time it is called. You cannot specify which file being read. You do not have to use a table, although it is much easier to use one for most situations.

local file_lines = {} --#create a blank table
local file = fs.open( "file_name", "r" ) --#open the file in read mode
for line in file.readLine do --#file.readLine is a function which acts similar to pairs or ipairs, and therefor can be used like this