This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Blender Squats's profile picture

Get clicks from wired monitor

Started by Blender Squats, 21 February 2016 - 01:01 AM
Blender Squats #1
Posted 21 February 2016 - 02:01 AM
Hi! I'm looking for some help with a project for controlling a reactor in Sky Factory 2.

I have Optifine installed, but the actual code is being run through a personal server.

I have tried to make a button api which appears to work on the actual terminal, but when run through a monitor it will not continue after the monitor is clicked.

The pictures are in my drive's public folder.

–> Here <–

I comment separated my code into sections based on the file that it was on in my computer (please look for the breaks). It can be found at this link.

Any help or explanation would be welcome. I am just a beginner so I would love to know more.

Thanks ^_^/>
Bomb Bloke #2
Posted 21 February 2016 - 09:36 AM
parallel.waitForAny(main(clicked), button.monDetect());

Couple of problems here;

First, that's not how you use parallel.waitForAny(). You need to pass it function pointers. You're running your functions before passing it whatever they return; you haven't included source for your button API, but main() certainly doesn't return a function pointer.

It seems you would be better off just having main() access "clicked" as an upvalue, instead of trying to pass it anything.

The other issue is that "clicked" is assigned the value of the variable titled "none", but nowhere do you assign a value to the "none" variable. I guess you meant to assign "none" as a string (that is to say, stick some quotes into line 49)?
Blender Squats #3
Posted 21 February 2016 - 02:41 PM
Hi! Thanks for your help. I see what you are saying and probably can get it done. What I was saying before was that what the pastebin contains is a sum of all the code from across files. These files are indicated by comments such as:
–startup code (/startup)