This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
fergregerg's profile picture

Player detector

Started by fergregerg, 17 May 2016 - 05:13 AM
fergregerg #1
Posted 17 May 2016 - 07:13 AM
Im still a big noob to this stuff and I need help with a program to detect other players. Any help is great. Please and thank you! Sorry my codes a mess.

What im trying to do

Detect if a player is me or my friend or no one and keep redflag set to false.
Set redflag to true when anyone else enters the area and put off a redstone signal to the left.
redstone torch up front stops program

What it does do

Detects all players and sets redflag to true then gives off a redstone signal to the left

a redstone signal input up front will stop the program

os.loadAPI("ocs/apis/sensor")
local tzs = sensor.wrap("top")
local redflag = false
local power = false
--print(textutils.serialize(tzs.gettargets())
while 1 > 0 do
--front killer
if power == true then
redstone.setAnalogOutput("left",0)
return
end
if redstone.getAnalogInput("front") == 15 then
power = true
open = false
end
-- front killer end
for k,v in pairs(tzs.getTargets()) do
  if v ~= nil and v["IsPlayer"] == true then
	redflag = true
  else
	redflag = false
end end
	os.sleep(0.5)

if redflag == true then
	 redstone.setAnalogOutput("left",15)
	 else
	 redstone.setAnalogOutput("left",0)
	 end
end
Edited on 17 May 2016 - 05:15 AM
Bomb Bloke #2
Posted 17 May 2016 - 09:03 AM
rs.setOutput() and rs.getInput() are a bit simpler than rs.setAnalogOutput() and rs.getAnalogInput(), as the former two functions assume full/any strength, whereas the latter two require specific strength settings.

You don't need to check if "power is true" is true. You can straight up check if power is true:

if power then

Likewise, any value that isn't false or nil counts as true for the purposes of a conditional check:

if v and v["IsPlayer"] then