This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
schrolock's profile picture

Public Rednet

Started by schrolock, 17 July 2012 - 06:53 PM
schrolock #1
Posted 17 July 2012 - 08:53 PM
hey!
i have an tekkit server with my friend and wanted to make a big clock. we did it but the server isnt strong enough to let it run the whole time. so we made an big block of comuters. now we want to build a computer on every plot with an monitor and spread the clocksystem via rednet. i am not good with rednet. will it be able to spread an command via rednet to start the clocksystem on EVERY computer that contains the needed program and has it started. if this would be able it would be nice if someone can send it to me
KevinW1998 #2
Posted 17 July 2012 - 09:17 PM
You can do it using:

rednet.broadcast()
e.g.

rednet.open("right")
rednet.broadcast("start clock")
This will send to every computer in range of 64 blocks (16 during a storm)
If you want to send futher then you need to use like rednet repeater what broadcast the message another time OR
change the config on the server so you can send futher than 64 blocks!
OmegaVest #3
Posted 17 July 2012 - 09:24 PM
Hmm. Well, yes and no.

FIrst, get out your RP2 bundled cables. You will need these instead of wireless modems. The modems may be cheap, but they only have a 64 block range, and that means if the clocktower terminal is at Y128, no one is going to be able to receive the message. But, with cables, they have a range of 255 blocks. So, when you hit that far, put a repeater computer that merely takes in a signal and puts it back out to all other sides.

Then, just make the computers check for the present time by pinging the clocktower.

rednet.open(side) -- Where side is the side the cables/modem come in.

--Codehere

rednet.send(twr, "Time Ping")  -- Where twr is the clocktower's computer id. You can find it by using id in the shell. '
sleep(0.2)