This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
kaj's profile picture

Making your own Function with parameters

Started by kaj, 20 July 2012 - 11:02 PM
kaj #1
Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:02 AM
Complete noob question, I know.
And I'm ashamed to be asking it.
I'v just started messing around with cc in the last week, had been experimenting with java previously.
just about got how to make/edit and run simple programs in cc.
Now I want to simplify the code by making abbreviations of existing functions,
and making my own functions, again to complement the existing ones.
so at this point i have 2 questions.

How do I make a function()?

and how do I set up 'global' booleans/ other variables (the way you would in java with public static boolean etc)

If there is an obvious tutorial or a thread out there could someone please post a link.

thanks in advance

-kaj
Lyqyd #2
Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:05 AM

function thisIsMyFunction(x, y)
    --do stuff
end

Why do you want to make globals? There are very few cases where they are needed.
Grim Reaper #3
Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:27 AM
In Java, public is an access specifier for a variables and methods within a class. Lua is not initially Object Oriented, however you can add Object Oriented design fairly easily.

Also, static is to create a variable that is the "same" no matter where you call it. (If that makes much sense.)
In methods and variables that are altered via the 'static' keyword, they are callable and usable without an instance of the class they are defined in. You can replicate this in Lua via OOP, which again, is easily achieved.
Check this Lua OOP tutorial out: Lua Object Oriented Programming Tutorial

As far as I know, Lua only offers one access specifier: 'local'.

The 'local' keyword allows for duplicates of global variables within functions and limiting the access of variables within an API when it is being included by another program.