This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
KaosOveride's profile picture

eHelp with Pim program

Started by KaosOveride, 06 October 2016 - 10:10 PM
KaosOveride #1
Posted 07 October 2016 - 12:10 AM
Disclamer:
Im not a coder so hope its not to sloppy and this is first attempt with computercraft

Trying to get a pim to strip all items/armor and place in chest when ever its stepped on

pim = peripheral.wrap("right")
chest = "north"
size = pim.getInventorySize()
while size == 0 do
  sleep(1)
	end

for i=size, 0,-1 do
  pim.pushItem(chest, i)

end

Works after I reboot the computer

then returns error
player:11: -1

any idea on how to make it continue to work with out needing the reboots
Bomb Bloke #2
Posted 07 October 2016 - 01:47 AM
If the first slot in the chest is 0, then highest slot will be size - 1:

for i = 0, size - 1 do

It may also be the case that you need to confirm there's something to push before you actually push it; IIRC you'd call pim.getSlot(i) and check that it's not nil:

if pim.getSlot(i) then pim.pushItem(chest, i) end

… though this tool can help you get specifics on the functions available through OpenPeripheral.
KaosOveride #3
Posted 07 October 2016 - 02:15 AM
If the first slot in the chest is 0, then highest slot will be size - 1:

for i = 0, size - 1 do

What do you mean about the first slot in the chest is 0.

I thought that it is pim.pushItem(target location, player inventory id , amount to pull, location to put id) as the possible arguments and if left blank it would just find next avail open location in target inventory. And take everything in the item slot.
Very possible that I am wrong though. If so how could I adjust the code to fix it.?

The program runs fine and functions correctly until it is completed. Upon completion i get the Error at line 11 (-1) which is I think the for loop (i) variable is being set to -1 and not resetting to 0 at the end of the program.