This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
MarioBG's profile picture

Calculation task interruption

Started by MarioBG, 22 October 2016 - 06:54 PM
MarioBG #1
Posted 22 October 2016 - 08:54 PM
Hi!

I'm currently studying Software Engineering, and in the OS subject they offer the possibility to get some extra marks with a voluntary task. They usually suggest modifying https://pdos.csail.mit.edu/6.828/2016/xv6.html Xv6's task manager, but since I've had the idea of making my ComputerCraft OS a multitasking one for quite some time now, I decided to pitch the idea at the professor, and it seemed to go down pretty well.

So, when I got down to it, I realized I'd have to do something about controlling the execution of calculation tasks, e.g. stopping an endless loop before it crashes the computer. I know this can't be done per se in Lua, as it's based on yielding threads, but I've thought of a little trick that may work. It would consist in introducing a little os.pullEventRaw() at the beginning of every loop. What do you think of it? Is it feasible, is there any better alternative? How could it be done? I really want to do this task about ComputerCraft, and I need this fixed for that. Thanks in advance!
KingofGamesYami #2
Posted 22 October 2016 - 09:27 PM
Actually, this is already the behavior of a CC computer. If you're multitasking, the manager can simply catch the "too long without yielding" error. It shuts down the computer only if it is unable to force a yield via the error. An example case would be a ln infinite loop which does not do anything.
Bomb Bloke #3
Posted 23 October 2016 - 12:37 AM
In cases where a loop would completely shut the computer down, my advice is "let it". If the code is bugged, it's better to allow it to fail than to try to hide the problem.
MarioBG #4
Posted 23 October 2016 - 10:30 AM