This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Awesome_Me1's profile picture

Someone claims to be able to hack a server with computercraft

Started by Awesome_Me1, 15 November 2016 - 11:06 PM
Awesome_Me1 #1
Posted 16 November 2016 - 12:06 AM
I've been playing on a server with ComputerCraft. Someone keeps saying they are able to run commands without op permissions using computercraft. I'm no expert and I have no clue if what they are claiming would work. I just want to know if it's at all possible that someone could run admin commands using ComputerCraft. Also, is it possible to install mods to the server using this? They apparently can do that too.

I'm very skeptical, but I wanted an expert opinion.
Lyqyd #2
Posted 16 November 2016 - 05:06 PM
These things have been claimed quite a few times, but none of the claimants have ever provided substantial proof. The architecture of Minecraft and ComputerCraft make such claims unlikely to be true.

Command computers can do everything command blocks can do, but players must already have Op permissions to access their interface.
TheRockettek #3
Posted 16 November 2016 - 06:20 PM
it is possible its a creative server (im sure what server it is and its enabled on there) and it has the config option for command block wrapping on. Some things will work but usually commands such as /ban,/kick etc. Doesnt work on there (also permission plugins dont allow it) But thats pretty much the only way. What server are you on?
Lyqyd #4
Posted 16 November 2016 - 06:59 PM
You must be an Op to get command blocks, even in creative mode.
Anavrins #5
Posted 17 November 2016 - 12:51 AM
An attacker would surely use some kind of mod which allows you to spawn any items with any nbt data, which could include spawning an item with the ID, this kind of attack allowed a force-op in vanilla MC 1.8 by spawning a sign or book with a specific nbt tag.