This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
tycoonlover1359's profile picture

Rednet API vs. ModemAPI, Authentication Server & Client

Started by tycoonlover1359, 27 March 2017 - 06:03 AM
tycoonlover1359 #1
Posted 27 March 2017 - 08:03 AM
I'm an very basic user of CC. I have basic knowledge of LUA for CC and have been using it for a while to make a bunch of password protected doors on servers. Now I've made a system that doesn't rely on the computer next to the door (the 'client') being the one controlling it; a computer somewhere else (the 'server') controls the doors, and the client just transmits inputs to the server. I use the Modem API to do this transmission. I have also seen that people use the Rednet API to transmit messages wirelessly between two computers. I would like to know the differences between Rednet and Modem, and when to use each one.

Now, as for the second part, an authentication server and a client to go with it, along with which API should I use (Modem or Rednet), how would I do this? DO NOT PROVIDE ME EXACT CODE ON HOW TO DO THIS (ex., don't provide me a pastebin with a program that can already do this. I want to learn to make it myself so I can then adapt it to my future needs, or rewrite it if necessary.) Now, what I want to happen in essence, is this. I put a floppy drive in a client computer, it reads it and verifies it's an authorized drive with a server computer that is nearby yet hidden. I would want the server to be able to handle multiple clients (not necessarily at once,) and that I can control both the server and clients from almost anywhere using another computer. (For instance, if I'd run a command on a computer that essentially tells the server to authenticate all requests as verified (yes, I know, it's pointless, but a good example none the less), then it would tell all the clients to accept the keycard (floppy disk) no matter what was on it, if anything.)