This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
scriptn00b's profile picture

i need help with a wireless password door

Started by scriptn00b, 27 July 2012 - 06:54 AM
scriptn00b #1
Posted 27 July 2012 - 08:54 AM
I need a locking/door opening program set that sends signals from one computer to another one telling it to open the door I'm not very good at programing so i figured this would be the best place to find one
brett122798 #2
Posted 27 July 2012 - 09:11 AM
Well I don't have a script made for your purpose but.. if you know enough about scripting you can do this yourself with these two commands: rednet.send() and rednet.receive()

I'd make a script for you but I'm very very busy with Doctor Who, if you're wondering where I am, look at my location.

<——–
Rotaretilbo #3
Posted 27 July 2012 - 01:27 PM
I'm bored and I've recent set this up. For this setup, you're going to need three computers, two modems, a disk drive, and a floppy disk.

Computer 1
This computer accepts the password. It will have one of the two modems. Somewhere in your code there should be an if else statement, where the if handles if the password is correct and the else handles if it is incorrect. Add this somewhere into the if statement:
rednet.open("<side>") --where <side> represents whichever side the modem is on (acceptable input for this would be left, right, top, bottom, or back)
time = textutils.formatTime(os.time(),true)
message = "Access denied at "..time
rednet.send(<id2>, message) --where <id2> represents the id of Computer 2; you can discern this by running id on Computer 2
sleep(1)  --keep in mind that unless you put this after the line that closes the door, this will affect how long the door is open
rednet.close("<side>") --has to be same as whichever side you opened
You may also choose to add this to the else statement:
rednet.open("<side>") --as before, whichever side the modem is on
time = textutils.formatTime(os.time(),true)