This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
hobnob11's profile picture

100% Secure Door Lock

Started by hobnob11, 27 February 2012 - 12:42 PM
hobnob11 #1
Posted 27 February 2012 - 01:42 PM
Making a door lock, one that cannot be terminated…

i have this:

pass = "password"
write "Password: "

read = ("*")
if input == pass then
print "Welcome!"
rs.setOutput("back" true)
rs.setOutput("right" true)
rs.setOutput("left" true)
sleep(3.5)
rs.setOutput("back" false)
rs.setOutput("right" false)
rs.setOutput("left" false)

else

print "Incorrect Password!"
sleep(2)
os.reboot()
end

and this (ref)

local password = "secret"
repeat
        write("Password: ")      -- write without line break
        local status, input = pcall( read )      -- read input
until input == password -- repeat until the input matches the password

im not a complete noob, but can someone combine these two so that the computer program cannot be terminated

P.S i have a program on a disk called startup that runs this, so that i can stop it from auto running if i need to
Espen #2
Posted 27 February 2012 - 02:56 PM
You cannot assign the read function name with a string. You have to call read() with a an optional parameter, e.g. read("*").
Also you used read() without assigning it to a variable. That means whatever you enter will not be usable.
But then you go and check if input == pass, but input hasn't been defined yet, so it will always be nil.
You need to assign input to read(), so that whatever someone enters is being fed into input.
Another thing is that you have to separate the parameters of the redstone functions with commas.

Regarding your question about termination prevention:

local pass = "password"

write "Password: "
local status, input = pcall( read, "*" )
if input == pass then
    print "Welcome!"
    rs.setOutput("back", true)
    rs.setOutput("right", true)
    rs.setOutput("left", true)
    sleep(3.5)
    rs.setOutput("back", false)