This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
RaZPuTiN42's profile picture

Door Switch

Started by RaZPuTiN42, 31 August 2012 - 02:28 PM
RaZPuTiN42 #1
Posted 31 August 2012 - 04:28 PM
I'm having a problem working something out. I'm quite sure it's not very complicated, I'm just kinda new to computercraft.
I've made a piston controled 3x3 door, and a program for closing and opening it. This went without a hitch.
However, I want to burrow the computer underground, and connect it to a button on the outside, so that when you hit the button, the door opens. I've tried using a "while true do" command and pulling on the redstone event. This works for the first time the button is pushed. If I tried restarting the program at the end of itself, it no longer stoped to wait for a redstone input, and just kept opening. Thus, I would have to manually restart the program to make the design work, and I want this to funciton automatically.
Please help :)/>/>

Edit:
I simulated the sitaution with a redstone lamp for experimentation, and the program looks like this (and is ofcourse saved as startup)

event, back = os.pullEvent()

if event == "redstone" then

shell.run("on")
sleep(2.0)
shell.run("off")
os.reboot()

else
os.reboot()
end
Kolpa #2
Posted 31 August 2012 - 06:08 PM
I'm having a problem working something out. I'm quite sure it's not very complicated, I'm just kinda new to computercraft.
I've made a piston controled 3x3 door, and a program for closing and opening it. This went without a hitch.