This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
danners68's profile picture

[QUESTION] How Do I Disable Edit?

Started by danners68, 08 September 2012 - 10:08 AM
danners68 #1
Posted 08 September 2012 - 12:08 PM
so this has been asked before, but the answers dont seem to apply to what i want/can do…

i'm a complete novice at coding and have a basic door pass code i will post this code later for review and what have you as its my first door lock code….

the problem i face is people can easily edit a new program and use it to bypass my door open command,

the fix ive seen before wanted to remove the edit process from the mod entirly…..i just want to remove it from my single isolated machine,
my setup runs startup and 2 other programs, startup is a single simple line: print("What Would You like to Do")
it has my Open command which includes passcode for entry(ill post later, as im pressed for time right now) and a close command, a simple confirmation, warning that the door is closing, and a closed door, if possible id like to be able to tell this command to shut down but thats not a priority(i use shell.run(shutdown) but it asks for an "argument" which i dont understand being novice)

i want to limit this machine to these 3 programs only, i believe i have disabled CTRL+T on them all, and have tried to delete edit + lua from the cpu interface, but the programs remain,

any and all help will be appreciated,

Danners 68

-PS: just to clarify, this is on a server I don't own
danners68 #2
Posted 08 September 2012 - 12:10 PM
also this is on Craft os1.3
danners68 #3
Posted 08 September 2012 - 02:07 PM
MASSIVE EDIT!!! my fix was relatively simple:

using edit edit just save a simple message counteracts the edit program,

ill post my code shortly
Zoinky #4
Posted 08 September 2012 - 02:42 PM
Anyone could just type "delete edit"…
Lettuce #5
Posted 08 September 2012 - 03:02 PM