This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
PonyKuu's profile picture

local and global functions

Started by PonyKuu, 29 September 2012 - 07:01 AM
PonyKuu #1
Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:01 AM
Hello! I'm new to ComputerCraft and lua an I'm trying to figure it out.
I tried to understand the built-in excavate program (and write my own variant), and I noticed that almost all the functions in that program are local. So, when should I use local functions and when - global ones?
Luanub #2
Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:34 AM
You should pretty much always use local unless you have a specific need to use global.
PonyKuu #3
Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:44 AM
Um… OK, thank you. Is it true for API functions too?
And can I have an example of that "specific need"?
Luanub #4
Posted 29 September 2012 - 09:55 AM
For API functions you will want to do them as global. You can use local vars, but the functions will not be able to be accessed by an external program if they are local to the API.

The only time I've had a need to do global anything was when making API's. The rest of the time local functions/vars have always worked for what I was doing.
PonyKuu #5
Posted 29 September 2012 - 10:14 AM
OK, thank you for the explanation ^_~
cheekycharlie101 #6
Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:24 PM
to be honest it doesent really matter. if you find your using some code a lot in computercraft just put it in a program and make it a function. then you can call it when ever you want with ease. an example would be if your always clearing the screen and resetting the cursor to the top you could do this:

function reset()
  term.clear()
  term.setCursorPos(1,1)
end

now if you have that on your computer you can then just do

reset()
in your code and it will clear the screen and reset the cursor to the top left.
hope this helped
Luanub #7
Posted 04 October 2012 - 10:22 PM