This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Zivel's profile picture

turtle.select program not working.

Started by Zivel, 21 October 2012 - 10:27 PM
Zivel #1
Posted 22 October 2012 - 12:27 AM
Why is this not working:

print("Which slot?")
local x = read()
turtle.select(x)

I have identified this as the problem in a more complex bit of code I have but for the life of me I cannot get this to work. It should ask "Which slot?", I enter a number and it selects that slot…

It is giving me turtle:18: Expected number.

I am just beginning in programming and I have been trying to figure this out for a while now. I know it is something simple, please point it out to me.

Thanks
cant_delete_account #2
Posted 22 October 2012 - 12:58 AM
Use tonumber(read())
turtle.select requires a number, not a string, and read() returns a string, tonumber makes a string into a number.
Zivel #3
Posted 22 October 2012 - 01:09 AM
Thank you very much!

I was wondering if it was trying to read it as a string and not an integer.

Just for interest sake and my knowledge. How come this works:

print("enter something")
local x = read()
print(x)
x=x+5
print(x)

This will use the read() input as an integer. Proven by the result of it adding 5 to it and giving me the correct answer. This is where I got messed up and thought there was something else wrong. Why does the first code not automatically read it as an integer but the code above does? What is the difference?
remiX #4
Posted 22 October 2012 - 01:52 AM
Thank you very much!

I was wondering if it was trying to read it as a string and not an integer.

Just for interest sake and my knowledge. How come this works:

print("enter something")
local x = read()
print(x)
x=x+5
print(x)