This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
MadCat's profile picture

Noob taking on big project

Started by MadCat, 09 November 2012 - 07:06 AM
MadCat #1
Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:06 AM
Hello im new to programming in general and i want to tackle on some bigger programming, i know some basics however i don't exactly know if i do know them all
but one project i want to work on is slowling building an operating system.

What i want to do:
1.Create a profile make, so a person can make accounts to share a computer
2.Easy program access for people who don't know much about computercraft
3. a way to Hook it up to a server to create fun LAN programs and games

Now also some things i want to do im not sure if possible, but i was working on creating it in the form of an AI, as in anything said sounds abit more human and contains '(Name):' before it all
ex: Jeeves: Hello Sir, Thank you for logging in
i was wondering if there is a way i can randomize what he says to certain phrases, such as i say 'hi' and he will either say "Hellow" or "Hey there" such like that, and if possible a way for when your making an account, you can change his name.

Im not asking anyone to code this form me or any of the like, im wondering 1: The possibility and 2: a push in the general direction to learn how to do all this.
PixelToast #2
Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:11 AM
read online on how AI works
ReadTheFuckingManual
look at other peoples Oses (redworks is a good one)
???
profit!!!!

all these things are possible
nahkranoth #3
Posted 09 November 2012 - 08:24 AM
To start off with the beginning, making a profile. There are allot of examples out there for a password protected computer. Take one of those examples and just add more users/passwords to it, if you want to make it possible for users to add their own profile and save their own data, you should be thinking about databases. You can make it as complex or as simple as you want.