This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Abdiel's profile picture

Auto-updating system

Started by Abdiel, 07 December 2012 - 08:52 PM
Abdiel #1
Posted 07 December 2012 - 09:52 PM
Greetings!

New to the forums, been playing with CC for about a month (loving the mod). I've been a professional programmer for 1.5 years and studying CS at a university for over 5 - so coding is nothing new to me. Feel free to use "big words" in your replies - I know what I'm doing (most of the time).

I am working on a distributed system involving dozens, up to maybe a hundred cooperating turtles. (I'm only going to say, a replacement for Logistic Pipes for SMP. If it ever approaches anything close to useable, I might post it here.) Currently, every turtle in the system carries several (currently 5-6) programs that the system uses. For a while now I have been wondering about how to handle system updates. While I'm testing things in SSP I got used to simply putting all of the files in the /rom/ folder, which is obviously impossible on SMP. And running around derping with a disk drive doesn't sound like my idea of fun.

I know of the pastebin program, and HTTP is enabled on my server, so I can use it. The system has one "Terminal" node which a user uses to interact with the system. From a user standpoint, I would love updating everything (every turtle in the system) to be as simple as typing an update command into the terminal. I already have the architecture to send this command to every node in the system.