This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Formis13's profile picture

[Lua][Question] Trying to make a list of sorts

Started by Formis13, 12 December 2012 - 03:46 PM
Formis13 #1
Posted 12 December 2012 - 04:46 PM
On a server I frequent, there's guilds of sorts, and for mine, I'm trying to set up a list of email addresses so I can send out announcements,etc. The problem is that the server resets often and so keeping them saved until I can see them and make a more permanent save elsewhere is not easy. I'm very new to programming, so I'm sure that there's a simple solution to this, but I've been working on this on and off for 3 days and I've still been hitting dead ends. Here's the code in its current form. What am I doing wrong?

--this is where I had most of my problems, I could make the variable and edit it, but the second the server restarted, everything was lost and I had to start from scratch.
local email = {"Emails:"}

function save ()
  local eString=textutils.serialize (email)
  file=fs.open("eList","a")
  file.write(eString)
  file.close()
end

function load ()
  local file=fs.open ("eList","r")
  local eString=file.readAll ()
  file.close()
  local email=textutils.unserialize (eString)
end

while true do
  term.clear()
  term.setCursorPos(1, 1)
  print ("Please enter your email.")
  input = read()

load ()
  term.clear()
  term.setCursorPos(1, 1)

--I wanted to make it so that if you entered seeEmails, it would display all the addresses inputted.
  if input ~= "seeEmails" then

table.insert(email, input)
	print ("Thank you, I will add you to the mailing list.")
	sleep (10)

else

for i = 1, #email, 2 do
	  if i + 1 > #email then
		print (email[i])
	  else
		print (email[i]..email[i+1])
	  end
	end

io.read()

end
  save ()
end
Bubba #2
Posted 12 December 2012 - 05:42 PM