This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
ProblematicSolutions's profile picture

[Lua] [Questions/Problems] Mining Turtles..

Started by ProblematicSolutions, 12 December 2012 - 06:00 PM
ProblematicSolutions #1
Posted 12 December 2012 - 07:00 PM
So I've been messing around with mining turtles recently and have been trying to make a code that cuts down 2x2 trees. I've managed to get most of it working but I'm not sure how to make it stop when it has finished cutting down the tree.. It just keeps tunneling into the ground.

I'm pretty sure there's a detect command but I'm not sure how to use it properly.

I am still new to this and learning so I'm sure there are plenty of things I could fix or do better xD

turtle.forward()
turtle.forward()
turtle.forward()
turtle.dig()
turtle.forward()
while turtle.digUp() do
turtle.up()
end
turtle.dig()
turtle.forward()
while turtle.digDown() do
turtle.down()
end
turtle.back()
turtle.back()
turtle.back()
turtle.back()

Also, how do I move the program onto a disk? :s

:-}
Edited on 12 December 2012 - 06:14 PM
Zoinky #2
Posted 12 December 2012 - 07:33 PM

local height = 0

turtle.forward()
turtle.forward()
turtle.forward()
turtle.dig()
turtle.forward()

while turtle.digUp() do
  turtle.up()
  height = height + 1 -- Keeps track of how high the turtle goes.
end

turtle.dig()
turtle.forward()

while turtle.digDown() and height > 1 do -- Makes sure that the turtle only goes down the amount of blocks it came up.
  turtle.down()
  height = height - 1
end

turtle.back()
turtle.back()
turtle.back()
turtle.back()

Try that.

EDIT: Woops, colour tags got mixed in. Fixed :3
EDIT #2: Wait a second… A 2x2 tree would be 4 blocks in total? Your code doesn't chop down 4 blocks? Did you mean 1x2?
Edited on 12 December 2012 - 06:42 PM
ProblematicSolutions #3
Posted 12 December 2012 - 07:54 PM