This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
Kryptic's profile picture

If function with elements of a table

Started by Kryptic, 06 January 2013 - 09:49 AM
Kryptic #1
Posted 06 January 2013 - 10:49 AM
[left]Hi, I'm pretty new to Lua but thanks to the vast wealth of tutorials available on the net, I'm learning fairly fast.

However I've currently got a problem, and this time google hasn't provided me with any answers, so hopefully someone here will be able to help.

I understand how to solve my problem from a maths point of view so hopefully the coding will be similar.

I have two variables: x and y, and a set/table z, where z={1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16} and x∈z.

I want to create an 'if' function along the lines of:

If y∈{{z}\x}, then …

In other words, if y equals any element of the table/set z, excluding x, then the condition is true, otherwise it is false.

An ideas how to translate this into Lua code?

Thanks.[/left]
Kingdaro #2
Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:19 AM
You'd probably have to check every element of the table. I personally find that using variable names actually representative of what they are makes them less confusing, so I'll just go ahead and do that.

Here's a "contains" function.

function contains(set, element, condition)
  for i=1, #set do
    if element == set[i] and (condition == nil or condition(set[i])) then
      return i
    end
  end
end

It basically goes though the table and sees if it can find said element in the table, then returns where it found it. Example usage:

local set = {1,2,3,'a','b','c'}
if contains(set, 'a') then
  print 'stuff'
end

This will print "stuff", because 'a' is found at position 4 in the table "set".
ChunLing #3
Posted 06 January 2013 - 11:33 AM
I would go ahead and build the table in reverse, with the values as indexes, so:
{1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16}
becomes: