This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
emufossum13's profile picture

One more variable question

Started by emufossum13, 16 January 2013 - 03:23 PM
emufossum13 #1
Posted 16 January 2013 - 04:23 PM
ok I'm sorry for all the questions, but I'm new to lua (only been using it for about a month)
This is the last question about variables (i promise)
I was wondering if there was a way to declare an "unknown" variable
this way I could use a global variable to store a number that I keep adding to, without resetting that variable when the program starts over
Luanub #2
Posted 16 January 2013 - 05:01 PM
If you're wanting a persistant variable just use either the FS or IO API and save the variable to a file and read its value each time the program starts.

Here's an example

--lets make sure the file exists, this is more for error handling.
if not fs.exists("varSaves") then  --checks if file exists
  local file = io.open("varSave", "w")  -- if not open the file "varSave" in write mode
  file:write() -- write the file
  file:close() -- close the handle, always do this.
end

--now lets save the variable to the file. Will use y from your previous post.
local file = io.open("varSave","w")
file:write(y) -- write y to the file
file:close()

--now lets assign whats in the file to y
local file = io.open("varSave", "r") -- open in it read only mode
y = file:read()
file:close()

Depending on how you're wanting to it you may want to create some functions to handing the read and writes. Hope this helps.
ChunLing #3
Posted 17 January 2013 - 08:57 AM
Hmmm…I don't know that the question is really about being able to store information so that it is retained in the event of a shutdown.