This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
brumster's profile picture

Append to table with key as a string

Started by brumster, 17 January 2013 - 04:23 AM
brumster #1
Posted 17 January 2013 - 05:23 AM
Urrrgh, I'm a bit new to LUA and I need some hint on how to tackle an issue I've got.

I want to keep a table that holds details of monitored turtles (current position, status, fuel, etc) - this is to run on a console, so that a single console can be used to monitor multiple turtles over rednet. The operator can only see the details of one turtle at a time, but the program will be monitoring all rednet messages and storing the latest set of details for each turtle into a table - the key being the turtle ID, the value being another table itself with various key/value pairs in it.

The problem I have is trying to think how I can efficiently add a turtle entry into the table when a new message from a never-heard-from-before turtle hits the console.

Now, the ideal thing would be something like LUA's table.insert - but this can only insert/append elements into the table on a numerical key basis. So 1,2,3,4 etc. My turtle IDs could arrive in completely random order and will rarely be sequential. 33, 38, 15, etc.

It seems the only way I can create an entry into a table with a specified non-ordered numeric key (it could be a string, for all intents and purposes) is to create the table with the format :-

t = { [20] = tmpSubtable }

…but then I'm faced with the issue how do I add subsequent elements into the table?!

I could receive a message from a turtle, scan the existing table to see if an entry already exists (and if it does, just update it - that's easy enough). If not, I cannot obviously do just the above as it will wipe out the entirety of the existing t. So do I need to loop through it taking a copy of its elements into a temporary table, then add on my new one, then copy it all back into the original table?