This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
iJameStm's profile picture

Attack Turtle Error

Started by iJameStm, 17 January 2013 - 03:31 PM
iJameStm #1
Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:31 PM
Hi guys, I'm a beginner in turtle programming, and I want to make a guard turtle. Here is the program

————————-
for i = 1, 100 do
turtle.detect()
if true do
turtle.attack()
end
————————-

I get the error bios:338: [string "guard"]:3: 'then' expected

Also, am I missing something? like do I need to add anything to this?

Thanks
theoriginalbit #2
Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:39 PM
firstly it would be done like this

while true do
  if turtle.detect() then
	turtle.attack()
  end
end
however as stated on the wiki ( http://computercraft...tle=Turtle_(API) ) the detect function only detects blocks not mobs… so a solution would have to be made like the following:

1, we can just have it spam attack

while true do
  turtle.attack()
end

2, we can have it try to move, if it cant and it cant see a block there and it has fuel its a mob (however this also means your going to have to refuel the turtle every now and again )

while true do
   -- turn around
   turtle.turnLeft()
   turtle.turnLeft()
   while not turtle.forward() do
	 if turtle.detect() then
	   print("Its ok, its just a block!")
	   break -- exit this 'move forward' loop
	 elseif turtle.getFuelLevel() == 0 do
	   print("Oh it seems I'm out of fuel")
	   print("I will wait here for fuel")
	   while turtle.getFuelLevel() < 100 do
		 for i = 1, 16 do -- look in all my slots
		   turtle.select( i )
		   turtle.refuel()
		 end
	   end
	 else
	   turtle.attack()
	 end
   end
end
iJameStm #3
Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:45 PM
firstly it would be done like this

while true do
  if turtle.detect() then
	turtle.attack()
  end
end
however as stated on the wiki ( http://computercraft...tle=Turtle_(API) ) the detect function only detects blocks not mobs… so a solution would have to be made like the following: