This is a read-only snapshot of the ComputerCraft forums, taken in April 2020.
turtledude01's profile picture

How to send a file over rednet

Started by turtledude01, 21 January 2013 - 10:56 AM
turtledude01 #1
Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:56 AM
I am trying to send files between my computers by simply haveing computer 1 run a program that sends a rednet broadcast that sais it needs the update file then it will run the update file that it grabs. That update file would then grab the rest of the files it needs from the server. I have tried many ways of doing this but i am not very good at programming (yet). Thanks to anyone that can help me!
lieudusty #2
Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:17 PM
First you open the file using the fs or io API. After reading the file send it over rednet and the receiving computer will save the file again using fs or io.
Luanub #3
Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:29 PM
If the file is a large read it into a table and use textutils.serialize() and textutils.unserialize() to convert it to a string and back to a table again after it is sent.
turtledude01 #4
Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:29 PM
Ok thanks. Ill see what i can do and if i cant get it to work correctly ill post what i come up with.
Luanub #5
Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:31 PM
if you want some examples just search this portion of the forums it is a very common question.
turtledude01 #6
Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:31 PM
If the file is a large read it into a table and use textutils.serialize() and textutils.unserialize() to convert it to a string and back to a table again after it is sent.
I dont know how to read it into a table :(/>
Edit: I also have searched the forum for it but i cant figure out other peoples programs very easily.
Luanub #7
Posted 21 January 2013 - 12:36 PM
Here is one way

local tContents = {} -- the contents table

local file = fs.open("FileNameHere", "r")
repeat
  line = file.readLine()
  table.insert(tContents,line)
until not line
file.close()
Eric #8